top of page
Search
  • WITW Maintenance

The Patch

Let’s Talk About.. The Patch!

Now I’m talking about the Patch, no not the assistance in quitting smoking, or even the weird area of hair that you found after your 40th birthday. I’m talking about the on the fly fix you may need to do on your bike! I know you’re thinking Scout what are you talking about!? Never fear I am here to explain it to you!

When you travel what do you carry for those emergency repairs?

Do you have tools, or do you carry a credit card and AAA?

Honestly , whichever you are most comfortable with is ok, but you should have a basic tool kit with you every time you mount up. I used to carry everything I thought I might ever need, and let me tell you that gets heavy and takes up a lot of space, and a side note on this ... always carry your tool kit in the right side saddle bag. Why you ask? Because if you have to pull over on the side of the road, your right side saddle bag should be away from traffic for you to be able to access your tools more safely. I always recommend not pulling over on the side of the road, try to find a parking lot or rest area if possible, but sometimes you have to… because your muffler broke, or your shift linkage came loose.

Now, I have a smaller but more useful tool kit. This is what I carry and most of it fits in a standard tool roll bag.

A ratchet and a set of sockets of the most common sizes for my bike

Wrenches to match those sockets sizes

Screwdrivers- both Phillips and flathead, in couple different lengths (don’t forget the stubby ones)

A set of hex keys- both star and allen head (metric and standard)

Zip ties- various lengths

Hose Clamps- a couple different sizes

A tube of gasket maker- can be used to seal up leaks, cover bare wires that are creating a short, or create a bump cushion where needed

And of course … electric tape or Duct tape

I also like to carry a Fuel Buddy (for sharing fuel) and a spare fuel can (always full), extra oil (because that’s how my girl rolls), a tire patch kit and a portable air compressor, some wire or muffler strapping that can be used to secure loose parts (also how my girl rolls), and extra fuses

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Uh Oh! Moments

Let’s Talk About.. The UH OH! Now I’m talking about the Uh Oh! moments… Those moments where you know that the proverbial pile has hit the fan and things are going to be chaotic. Now I know you are all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page